Author Topic: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]  (Read 5910 times)

Offline eX0du5

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 560
    • View Profile
Hi,

I attached the new Firefox Add-on to this post.
I will release it after a short test period in which you can bring up the problems you face with this version.

What's new:
- you can have more than 5 tools
- new options dialog which allows settings what shall be sent on individual tool level
- correction with universe detection
- new stuff for translation (If you have a locale which is not yet translated, please post the correct translation also here!)

Have fun :-)

EDIT 14th Feb 22:26 CET: - file uploaded again (bugfix for deletion of tools)
EDIT2: 15th Feb 20:24 CET: - file uploaded to remove fixed window size of options dialog and update of some language files
EDIT3: 15th Feb 21:05 CET: - file uploaded to improve exception handling
EDIT4: 19th Feb 19:16 CET: - file uploaded with improved exception handling and new language updates
EDIT5: 23th Feb 21:45 CET: - file uploaded with adjusted language files

EDIT6 by Omar_Hawk: This version is now also available as official release at AMO, there has nothing been changed since 23rd Feb, so users who already downloaded the plugin from here don't have to do anything.
« Last Edit: 02 March 2010, 23:55:48 by Omar Hawk »

Offline Omar Hawk

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3
« Reply #1 on: 14 February 2010, 19:24:43 »
The following lines are not translated yet:

<!ENTITY dialog.general_data "General Data">
<!ENTITY dialog.add_tool "Add new tool">
<!ENTITY dialog.delete "Delete">
<!ENTITY dialog.name "Name">
<!ENTITY dialog.uni_data "Universe data">
<!ENTITY dialog.own_data "Own data">

The following languages have already been translated:
  • German
  • English
  • Danish (MoBoni82)
  • Spanish (Warnon)
  • Portuguese (iRIX)
  • Brazilian (iRIX)
  • Dutch (TheUneXist)
  • Italian (ThePeace)
  • Czech (ondras)
  • Finnish (SnakeQ)
  • Hungarian (tubifex)
  • French (AvriL)
  • Swedish (Devildoll [Marneus])
  • Polish (SeeQu)
  • Russian (Mouse)
  • Norwegian (im4evercool)
Thanks to all translators!
« Last Edit: 20 February 2010, 00:31:33 by Omar Hawk »

Offline bontchev

  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3
« Reply #2 on: 15 February 2010, 05:56:03 »
Unfortunately, I can't test it right now. I play both in old-style and in redesign universes - and I do it simultaneously and with one and the same browser, so the two-profiles trick is out of question - and being able to use GT in the old universes is absolutely vital. In the redesign universes it would be nice but for now I can make-do without it.

Still, a couple of remarks:

1) You seem to be using some kind of source code control system. In the official release of the plug-in, you might want to omit the .svn subdirectory trees created by it. ;)

2) The plug-in (unlike GT itself) doesn't support the Bulgarian locale. Do you want me to make a Bulgarian translation? I just have to translate the files galaxyplugin.dtd and galaxyplugin.properties, right? Does any of them contain strings that are from the game (and, therefore, it is critical to use the same strings that are used by the Bulgarian OGame) - or can I just do free translation?

Offline Omar Hawk

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3
« Reply #3 on: 15 February 2010, 13:26:57 »
2) The plug-in (unlike GT itself) doesn't support the Bulgarian locale. Do you want me to make a Bulgarian translation? I just have to translate the files galaxyplugin.dtd and galaxyplugin.properties, right? Does any of them contain strings that are from the game (and, therefore, it is critical to use the same strings that are used by the Bulgarian OGame) - or can I just do free translation?

This would be kind!

You need to translate all three files from a locales folder:
- contents.rdf (author name, locale name, etc)
- galaxyplugin.dtd (just translation)
- galaxyplugin.properties (also just translation)

Thanks in advance.

The UneXist

  • Guest
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3
« Reply #4 on: 15 February 2010, 16:11:18 »
Here are the new lines for the nl-NL locals

Code: [Select]
<!ENTITY dialog.general_data "Algemene gegevens">
<!ENTITY dialog.add_tool "Voeg nieuwe tool toe">
<!ENTITY dialog.delete "Verwijderen">
<!ENTITY dialog.name "Naam">
<!ENTITY dialog.uni_data "Universum gegevens">
<!ENTITY dialog.own_data "Eigen gegevens">

With regards,

The UneXist

Offline eX0du5

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 560
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3
« Reply #5 on: 15 February 2010, 20:20:18 »
Hi bontchev,

the .svn stuff is not part of official releases. It is just a very small script I run locally to create the .xpi file even without checking them out of the repository. If I check them out, the .svn is not there by default.

Offline bontchev

  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #6 on: 16 February 2010, 16:41:34 »
Here is the Bulgarian localization.

I had to save the files in UTF-8 format, because Bulgarian uses the Cyrillic alphabet, which consists of non-ASCII characters.
« Last Edit: 16 February 2010, 16:43:17 by bontchev »

Offline Omar Hawk

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #7 on: 16 February 2010, 17:12:31 »
Thank you, bontchev. I added it to svn in Rev 394.

If eX0du5 will come online today, he may build a new version with this locale in it, and you can test it, if you like.
(Didn't you formerly say that you don't use a Bulgarian Firefox but an English one?)

Offline bontchev

  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #8 on: 17 February 2010, 06:59:14 »
(Didn't you formerly say that you don't use a Bulgarian Firefox but an English one?)
This is indeed the case - but many of my friends in OGame use a Bulgarian Firefox, so I'm doing the translation for them. As for testing, there is a little plug-in, called Quick Locale Switcher which I can use to switch temporarily to the Bulgarian locale (or any other) for testing purposes.

Offline bontchev

  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #9 on: 17 February 2010, 09:16:52 »
Tried the beta in the Bulgarian Andromeda. Getting some bizarre error:


Line 58 of file unknown:
Error  : NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED
Message: [Exception... "Component returned failure code: 0x8000ffff (NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED) [nsIPrefBranch.getBoolPref]"  nsresult: "0x8000ffff (NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED)"  location: "JS frame :: chrome://galaxyplugin/content/init.js :: anonymous :: line 58"  data: no]
Backtrace: [
Line 58 unknown:  Component returned failure code: 0x8000ffff (NS_ERROR_UNEXPECTED) [nsIPrefBranch.getBoolPref]
]


  ...
 
 


Offline eX0du5

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 560
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #10 on: 19 February 2010, 16:08:50 »
Hi bontchev,

this happened because the init method tried to read a preference from firefox which did not exist. I need to catch and ignore this exception as the user might not have set the preferences yet (never viewed the options dialog + ok).

I fixed this already for another tester who had problems with the extension but did not upload it yet. I will try to build a new test version which includes then also your translations.
Thanks for your support!

tagarna

  • Guest
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #11 on: 26 April 2010, 21:25:20 »
hi i have tested the bar in spanish for windows and it works perfectly. I just wanted to know if i can use it the same for linux (ubuntu) or if there is a different  toolbar...by the way thanks

Offline Omar Hawk

  • Administrator
  • ****
  • Posts: 900
    • View Profile
Re: Testing of next toolbar version 2.3 [for Redesign universes]
« Reply #12 on: 27 April 2010, 11:49:07 »
It's for all OS the same. You only need Firefox ;)